On the brink: Before Patch 6.0

Pocket Watch in Sand

Even as I write this post, it astonishes me that we’re finally here.
The Warlords of Draenor Beta is in the process of beginning its final chapter, and Blizzard has just confirmed that Patch 6.0 will hit Live servers on October 14th- barely 4 days from now!

As I take a moment to process this, it occurs to me that I cannot recall a pre-expansion patch before which I rushed to complete this much content. Indeed, Mists of Pandaria has shaped up to be the expansion during which I’ve had the largest “To Do” list before the patch goes Live. While it hasn’t solely been restricted to content that the patch will remove, it’s definitely entailed a sense of urgency that I don’t recall experiencing during any previous Beta.

So, what list of accomplishments can I boast of the day that Patch 6.0 hits?

-I completed Gold Challenge Modes on six different characters. In order of completion, this list goes: Death Knight, Druid, Monk, Priest, Paladin and Warlock.

-I attained 9/9 “Challenge Master” Feats of Strength for realm best Challenge Mode times on my Death Knight last year. Although my best clear times have been beaten handily long since, it’s still an accomplishment that I’m proud of and hope is given more lucrative permanent rewards in the next iteration of CMs.

-I completed the Green Fire questline on my Warlock. Not only was this a very lore-rich and fun experience, but it provided a fun challenge to complete at a relatively low item level at the time. I shall wear my “Of the Black Harvest” title, awarded only to Warlocks who completed the quest change before 6.0 hits, with pride!

Screen Shot 2014-05-08 at 12.02.16 am-I reached Rank 10 in the Brawler’s Guild, which was a huge relief after squaring off against horribly bugged bosses like Hexos and Anthracite.

-I completed Endless Proving Grounds on all 3 roles: Tanking and Damage Dealing on my Death Knight, and Healing on my Druid (special shoutout to Dayani and Hamlet for their encouragement and advice in completing the last one!).

-Speaking of Proving Grounds, my most recently reached goal was fulfilling the requirements for the “You’re Really Doing It Wrong“, which Celestalon confirmed is currently tracked by the game and will be visible when the patch hits. I specifically completed Gold DPS as Blood on my Death Knight, in case you were wondering.

-I completed the Herald of the Titans achievement on my Mage, after an Openraid member very kindly organised a run after I tweeted about looking for a group.

-I managed to complete 4 (count them) Legendary Cloaks on various characters. This is as much an accomplishment as it is a tragedy, I fully admit! What this should also tell you though, is that I was able to experience Heroic Mode raiding on all of these characters. This allows me to say that I experienced Tanking, Healing and DPSing across a wide range of characters in challenging content- I’d say that’s certainly milking content for all it’s worth!

-I raided Cutting Edge content (literally!) for the majority of this expansion with a pretty amazing group of people. <Something Wicked> will continue to be my home in Warlords of Draenor, and I hope to be able to rejoin their Mythic ranks when life circumstances permit.

-I completed various soloing goals this expansion, with some of my proudest moments being killing Heroic 25 Lich King in Tier 14, Heroic Ragnaros, Heroic Cho’gall and Sinestra in Tier 15 and finally concluding with a solo of 10N Elegon this tier.Screen Shot 2014-06-26 at 3.52.46 am

-I managed to attain a number of mounts I’d coveted, including Mimiron’s Head, the Onyxian Drake, Baron Rivendare’s Deathcharger and of course- the Astral Cloud Serpent!

All in all, as a player I’m very happy with how I’m concluding Mists of Pandaria. While I certainly haven’t set any records in number of achievements attained or participated in cutting edge PvP, I truly feel satisfied with how much I managed to accomplish/experience in these two years.
While I can’t say for certain whether I’ll be ending Warlords of Draenor on a similar note, I am grateful to have been able to experience/complete so much of the game before a lot of content is removed or greatly altered by the 6.0 systems changes.

See you all in Draenor!

Leave a Reply

