Gaming Music: What’s your poison?

Due to the surfeit of free time at my disposal today, I’ve decided to grace my blog with not one, but two posts. Lucky you!

For any of you who follow me on Twitter, it’s no secret that I’m -ahem- rather fond of linking music tracks that I enjoy listening to while playing WoW. Given the large number of WoW players around the world, it’s logical to  assume that there’s a very wide variety of types of music both listened to during play, and also used as part of Kill Videos, Instructional Videos, etc.

On my part, I’ve publicly displayed a proclivity towards EDM/Trance-style tracks, along with a great deal of Touhou Music tracks (more on Touhou music in a future post). I even enjoy listening to tracks from other games that I’ve played in the past, on occassion. What many might not realise (understandably so), is this only reflects a minuscule portion of my music library in real life. I don’t tend to restrict myself to specific genres or regions, and make it a habit to try and collect music from new places I visit. This has resulted in my library containing not only a number of different genres, but also a variety of languages not limited to English, Urdu, Punjabi, Arabic, Hebrew, Swahili, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, etc. Oh, and let’s not forget the many instrumental pieces either!

Still, back to my original puzzlement: Why do I tend to gravitate towards particular types of music whilst playing WoW? Is it the familiarity of listening to music that’s associated with another computer game? Is it the adrenaline inducing rush that particular tracks give me, making them ideal for focusing during intense raids or Challenge Mode runs? Or is it simply that my subconscious chooses to pair particular tracks with different situations in WoW?
I cannot claim to have a definitive answer on any particular front, but it’s possible that it’s a blend of all the aforementioned.

In any event, I also wanted to use this post as an opportunity to hear back from some of my readers. What music do you like to listen to whilst playing WoW? Does it change depending on the situation (e.g. Farming vs Raiding)? Do different bosses/encounters inspire different types of music? Does the in-game music suffice your acoustic needs, or do you prefer to play with absolutely no sound?
Be sure to comment and share!

Leave a Reply

